MKinch Headshot.jpg

Michael Kinch

Michael S. Kinch is the author of Between Hope and Fear (2018), which tells the remarkable story of vaccine-preventable infectious diseases and their social and political implications. While detailing the history of vaccine invention, Kinch reveals the ominous reality that our victories against vaccine-preventable diseases are not permanent--and could easily be undone. In the tradition of John Barry's The Great Influenza and Siddhartha Mukherjee's The Emperor of All Maladies, Between Hope and Fear relates the remarkable intersection of science, technology and disease that has helped eradicate many of the deadliest plagues known to man.

Michael is also the author of A Prescription for Change: The Looming Crisis in Drug Development (2016), which reveals how changing business strategies combined with scientific hubris have altered the way new medicines are discovered, with dire implications for both health and the economy.

His forthcoming book, The End of the Beginning: Cancer, Immunity and the Future of a Cure (April 2019) is a fascinating history of our understanding and the treatment of cancer by one of the leading figures in the field—who is also a pioneer on the cusp of a breakthrough.

Michael Kinch was a professor at Purdue University, where he researched breast and prostate cancer. He then went on to found an oncology program at the biotechnology company MedImmune. He has led research and development activities at Functional Genetics, Inc. and lead drug discovery at Yale University. He is now a professor, Associate Vice Chancellor and Director for Research and Innovation in Business at Washington University in St. Louis.

[BETWEEN HOPE AND FEAR is a] terrific book―insightful, authoritative, and endlessly absorbing.
— Bill Bryson, NYT Bestselling author of A WALK IN THE WOODS

Talks and Topics

  • Vaccination - History and Controversies

  • Emerging Infectious Diseases

  • Cancer and New Cancer Therapies

  • History of Biotechnology and Pharmaceutical Industries

  • Role of Innovation in Developing New Medical Treatments

The immune system is notoriously complex, and Mr. Kinch offers a masterly exposition of the evolution and operation of our defense against disease-causing microorganisms. The author skillfully weaves historical figures into his narrative, with a good eye for largely forgotten players. Mr. Kinch’s volume ought to be read by parents and policy makers alike, and its message heeded by all
— Wall Street Journal

Check Michael's Availability

Name *
Name

Previous & Upcoming Events:

  • Sept 24-26, 2018: University of North Carolina Chapel Hill

In the News: