Author Photo

Credit: Katrina Sorrentino

Book Cover Image

Click to download full size

Long BIo:

Vesper Stamper was born in Nuremberg, Germany and raised in New York City. Her family was an eclectic mix of engineers, musicians and artists who didn' t think Voltaire too tough for bedtime reading, Chopin Valses too loud for wake-up calls, or precision slide rules too fragile as playthings. She married filmmaker Ben Stamper right out of college, and together they have two wildly creative children. When Vesper earned her MFA in Illustration from School of Visual Arts, Ben gave her an orange tree. She illustrates and writes under its leaves and blossoms at her grandfather 's old drafting table, in the pine woods of the Northeast.

Vesper’s first Young Adult novel, What the Night Sings (2018) was longlisted for the National Book Award, and has earned rave reviews from readers and critics alike. For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in Striped Pajamas, it’s a lushly illustrated novel about a teen Holocaust survivor who must come to terms with who she is and how to rebuild her life. What the Night Sings was the winner of Sydney Taylor Book Award, a Morris Award Finalist, National Book Award nominee and Golden Kite Honor. It was one of Kirkus', YALSA and Wall Street Journal's best YA of 2018, and has earned rave reviews from readers and critics alike.

Vesper is currently completing another illustrated YA about a girl discovering her unusual gifts—and falling in love—within the unfolding catastrophe of the Great Plague of 1348 (Knopf, 2020). She is also illustrating a picture book biography of Jane Austen (Bloomsbury, 2021).

Short Bio

Vesper Stamper's debut novel, What the Night Sings, has been longlisted for the National Book Award and received numerous accolades for recounting the seldom-told story of what happened to Holocaust survivors in the aftermath of World War 2. For twenty years, Author-Illustrator Vesper Stamper has created work through which asks the central question: how do people, especially children, who suffer trauma, go on to rise above their experiences as victims and go beyond surviving to flourishing? She believes in the dignity of every human being as made in the image of God, and in the resilience of the human spirit.