Search
Close this search box.
Search
Close this search box.
Brittany N.
Young Adult Novelist
Classically-Trained Actress
Travels from: New Orleans, LA

“Williams weaves an intricate, historically rich tapestry. Fans of Holly Black and Sarah J. Maas will love this start of a new series.” ― School Library Journal, Starred Review

Brittany N. Williams is the author of the YA historical fantasy THAT SELF-SAME METAL, Book #1 in the FORGE & FRACTURE SAGA. She is a classically-trained actress who studied Musical Theatre at Howard University and Shakespearean performance at the Royal Central School of Speech & Drama in London. Previously she’s been a principal vocalist at Hong Kong Disneyland, a theatre professor at Coppin State University, and made appearances in Queen Sugar and Leverage: Redemption. Her short stories have been published in The Gambit Weekly, Fireside Magazine, and the Star Wars anthology From a Certain Point of View: The Empire Strikes Back.

Brittany N.'s Featured Titles

Saint-Seducing Gold (The Forge & Fracture Saga, Book 2)

Amulet Books |
YA Fantasy

There’s danger in the court of James I. Magical metal-worker Joan Sands must reforge the Pact between humanity and the Fae to stop the looming war. As violence erupts across London and the murderous spymaster Robert Cecil closes in, the Fae queen Titanea coerces Joan into joining the royal court while holding her godfather prisoner in the infamous Tower of London. Now Joan will have to survive deadly machinations both magical and mortal all while balancing the magnetic pull of her two loves—Rose and Nick—before the world as she knows it is destroyed forever.

That Self-Same Metal (The Forge & Fracture Saga, Book 1)

Harry N. Abrams |
YA Historical Fantasy

A stunning YA fantasy debut, perfect for fans of Holly Black and Justina Ireland, about a Black girl (and sword expert) fighting a Fae uprising in Shakespearean London

Sixteen-year-old Joan Sands is a gifted craftswoman who creates and upkeeps the stage blades for William Shakespeare’s acting company, The King’s Men. Joan’s skill with her blades comes from a magical ability to control metal—an ability gifted by her Head Orisha, Ogun. Because her whole family is Orisha-blessed, the Sands family have always kept tabs on the Fae presence in London. Usually that doesn’t involve much except noting the faint glow around a Fae’s body as they try to blend in with London society, but lately, there has been an uptick in brutal Fae attacks. After Joan wounds a powerful Fae and saves the son of a cruel Lord, she is drawn into political intrigue in the human and Fae worlds.

Swashbuckling, romantic, and full of the sights and sounds of Shakespeare’s London, this series starter delivers an unforgettable story—and a heroine unlike any other.

Authors-Unbound_icon-web-link.png

The Bard Got Bars: Understanding & Performing Shakespeare 400 Years Later

In this workshop, participants will be introduced to the basics of William Shakespeare, his plays, and the world within which he wrote and how it informs our contemporary understanding. Participants will then learn how to speak Shakespeare’s verse and perform speeches or scenes from Shakespeare’s plays. The play selection can be tailored to suit a specific curriculum or chosen by Brittany.

Authors-Unbound_icon-web-link.png

Speak the Speech, I Pray You: Breaking Down Shakespeare’s Text for Performance

In this advanced workshop, participants will explore a pre-selected piece of text from Shakespeare’s plays and receive coaching either individually or in small groups. Brittany will explain how to pull clues from the text to inform character choices and blocking, how to decipher archaic language and idioms, and how to bring their personalities to their performance.

Authors-Unbound_icon-web-link.png

Truth Stranger Than Fiction: Exploring History Through the Fantastical

In this talk, Brittany will discuss the process of writing the Forge & Fracture Saga and historical fantasy in general. She’ll cover the research process, the facts engaged in the series, how to weave in the magical, and when to respect or disregard history as we know it.

Authors-Unbound_icon-web-link.png

My Voice Is In My Sword: Crafting Thrilling Fight Scenes

In this workshop, Brittany will discuss the art of writing fight scenes that feel exciting, capture the drama of the story, and explore character and growth. Participants will watch brief fight scenes from The Princess Bride, Atomic Blonde, and Black Panther then write their own scenes using a selection of characters and prompts.

Authors-Unbound_icon-web-link.png

Jack of All Trades: Engaging the Arts as a Multi-Hyphenate

In this talk, Brittany discusses being an actress, writer, and director and how her professions feed into each other. She will also cover the importance of stepping outside your comfort zone and how exploring other methods of expression make you a more well-rounded artist.

Authors-Unbound_icon-web-link.png

Breaking Blocks Like Tetris: Techniques for Beating a Writing Slump

In this workshop, Brittany will lead participants through a series of exercises that help break through the dreaded writer’s block and spark inspiration. Participants can either bring a piece they are currently working on or create something new using some provided prompts.

Authors-Unbound_icon-web-link.png

Life Upon the Wicked Page/Stage: A Meet the Author Talk

This is a general talk where Brittany introduces herself, her background, and her work as an author and actress. She’ll read a section from That Self-Same Metal and answer questions.

Brittany’s Short Stories

Brittany’s Events Link

Brittany’s Acting

Brittany’s Press Link

Join Brittany’s Sub-Stack

Honors, Awards & Recognition

Finalist for the Lambda Literary Award for LGBTQ+ Young Adult
Gambit Weekly’s 40 Under 40 Class of 2022
Starred Review from Kirkus Reviews

Media Kit

By clicking the link below you will be directed to a Google Docs Folder
where you can download author photos and cover images.

Similar Authors

Amanda

Joy

Young Adult Fantasy Novelist
M. T.
Middle Grade Novelist
Faridah
Bestselling Young Adult Novelist
Lauren
Bestselling Young Adult Novelist
India
Middle Grade Novelist

Interested in hosting this author?
Send us a message and an A|U Agent will return to you ASAP!