“A timely story of friendship and social activism with a ripped from the headlines feel.” — Culturess

Gilly Segal grew up in Florida, came of age in Israel, where she served in the IDF and graduated from Hebrew University, and finally decided to call Decatur, Georgia home. By day, she’s a lawyer for an advertising agency. By night, she is a caped crusader! No, just kidding (she wishes). Her real not-actually-secret identity is writer. She’s been writing in one form or another since she wrote her first young adult novel – a Sunfire YA romance fanfic – typed out on an electric typewriter. Although she will confess it was titled Claudia, she will neither confirm nor deny that any copies still exist. Whatever you do, don’t ask her mom if it’s in those boxes still stored in the closet of her childhood room.

When Gilly’s not reading and writing, she can be found exploring Decatur with her three kids and searching bakeries the world over for the perfect French macaron. Her favorite so far is rose lychee.

Her debut young adult novel, I’m Not Dying With You Tonight, co-written with Kimberly Jones, is a New York Times bestseller and NAACP Image Award Nominee. She is a Georgia Author of the Year Nominee. Her most recent novel, Why We Fly, was released in October, 2021.

Gilly’s Authors Out Loud Profile: 

Prepare an Invitation for:

Why We Fly

Sourcebooks Fire |
YA Novel

Sydney Taylor Book Award Notable book in the Young Adult category

From the New York Times bestselling authors of I’m Not Dying with You Tonight comes a story about friendship, privilege, sports, and protest.

With a rocky start to senior year, cheerleaders and lifelong best friends Eleanor and Chanel have a lot on their minds. Eleanor is still in physical therapy months after a serious concussion from a failed cheer stunt. Chanel starts making questionable decisions to deal with the mounting pressure of college applications. But they have each other’s backs—just as always, until Eleanor’s new relationship with star quarterback Three starts a rift between them.

Then, the cheer squad decides to take a knee at the season’s first football game, and what seemed like a positive show of solidarity suddenly shines a national spotlight on the team—and becomes the reason for a larger fallout between the girls. As Eleanor and Chanel grapple with the weight of the consequences as well as their own problems, can the girls rely on the friendship they’ve always shared?

I’m Not Dying with You Tonight

Sourcebooks Fire |
YA Novel

The New York Times Bestseller!

“An absolute page turner, I’m Not Dying with You Tonight is a compelling and powerful novel that is sure to make an impact. ” —Angie Thomas, New York Times bestselling author of The Hate U Give

An NAACP Image Award Nominee, I’m Not Dying with You Tonight follows two teen girls—one black, one white—who have to confront their own assumptions about racial inequality as they rely on each other to get through the violent race riot that has set their city on fire with civil unrest.

Lena has her killer style, her awesome boyfriend, and a plan. She knows she’s going to make it big. Campbell, on the other hand, is just trying to keep her head down and get through the year at her new school.

When both girls attend the Friday-night football game, what neither expects is for everything to descend into sudden mass chaos. Chaos born from violence and hate. Chaos that unexpectedly throws them together.

They aren’t friends. They hardly understand the other’s point of view. But none of that matters when the city is up in flames, and they only have each other to rely on if they’re going to survive the night.

This book is perfect for:

  • Sparking conversations about prejudice and the racial tension that exists in America
  • Parents and educators looking for multicultural and African American books for teens
  • Fans of Nic Stone, Angie Thomas, and Jason Reynolds

Additional Praise for I’m Not Dying with You Tonight:

“A vital addition to the YA race relations canon.” —Nic Stone, New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin

“An astounding achievement. This novel is an incendiary experience, one that does not shy away from difficult questions about privilege and violence. But Jones and Segal don’t hold our hands to provide us easy answers; this is a book meant to be devoured in a single sitting and discussed for years to come.” —Mark Oshiro, author of Anger is a Gift

“I’m Not Dying With You Tonight is a powerful examination of privilege, and how friends are often found in surprising places. Jones and Segal have penned a page-turning debut, as timely as it is addictive.” —David Arnold, New York Times bestselling author of Mosquitoland and Kids of Appetite

Brave Spaces: Talking About Race and Racism in Multicultural Friendships

Being an Ally: How to Be a Good Ally to Marginalized Communities in Social Justice Movements

Co-Authoring Tips and Tricks

Writing Outside Your Identity

Athletes and Activism

Jewish Activism and Allyship

Balancing a Creative Side Hustle With a Corporate Life

Path to Publication

Gilly’s FAQ

Honors, Awards & Recognition

NYT Bestseller
NAACP Image Awards
Georgia Author of the Year Nominee

Media Kit

By clicking the link below your will be directed to a Google Docs Folder
where you can download author photos and cover images.

Interested in hosting this author?
Send us a message and an A|U Agent will return to you ASAP!