Larry
Nonfiction Thriller Novelist
New York Times Bestselling Author
Travels from: Orlando, FL

“A work of non-fiction that’s more thriller than biography.”—USA Today

Larry Loftis is the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, USA Today, and international bestselling author of four nonfiction spy thrillers: The Princess Spy: The True Story of World War II Spy Aline Griffith, Countess of Romanones (winner of the Florida Book Award and the Barnes & Noble September Nonfiction Book of the Month); CODE NAME: LISE: The True Story of the Woman Who Became WWII’s Most Highly Decorated Spy (winner of the Florida Book Award and a Goodreads Choice Awards semifinalist); and Into the Lion’s Mouth: The True Story of Dusko Popov—World War II Spy, Patriot, and the Real-Life Inspiration for James Bond (international bestseller). His fourth nonfiction thriller, THE WATCHMAKER’S DAUGHTER, hits bookstores March 7, 2023.

His books have been translated into multiple languages around the world⸻including Dutch, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Chinese, Czech, and Serbian⸻and he has been featured on the Smithsonian Channel, C-Span, and twice on The TODAY Show.

Prior to becoming a full-time writer, Mr. Loftis was a corporate attorney, publishing scholarly legal articles in the University of Florida Law Review, Suffolk Transnational Law Journal, Georgia Journal of International and Comparative Law, Florida Bar Journal, National Law Journal, and Florida Banking.  He also has served as a Teaching Fellow at the University of Florida Law School, where he taught writing and appellate advocacy.  He received his B.A. and J.D. from the University of Florida, where he served on the Law Review as Senior Executive Editor and Senior Articles Editor.

The Princess Spy: The True Story of World War II Spy Aline Griffith, Countess of Romanones

Atria Books |
Nonfiction

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES, WALL STREET JOURNAL, AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER

“As exciting as any spy novel” (Daily News, New York), The Princess Spy follows the hidden history of an ordinary American girl who became one of the OSS’s most daring World War II spies before marrying into European nobility. Perfect for fans of A Woman of No Importance and Code Girls.

When Aline Griffith was born in a quiet suburban New York hamlet, no one had any idea that she would go on to live “a life of glamour and danger that Ingrid Bergman only played at in Notorious” (Time). As the United States enters the Second World War, the young college graduate is desperate to aid in the war effort, but no one is interested in a bright-eyed young woman whose only career experience is modeling clothes.

Aline’s life changes when, at a dinner party, she meets a man named Frank Ryan and reveals how desperately she wants to do her part for her country. Within a few weeks, he helps her join the Office of Strategic Services—forerunner of the CIA. With a code name and expert training under her belt, she is sent to Spain to be a coder, but is soon given the additional assignment of infiltrating the upper echelons of society, mingling with high-ranking officials, diplomats, and titled Europeans. Against this glamorous backdrop of galas and dinner parties, she recruits sub-agents and engages in deep-cover espionage.

Even after marrying the Count of Romanones, one of the wealthiest men in Spain, Aline secretly continues her covert activities, being given special assignments when abroad that would benefit from her impeccable pedigree and social connections.

“[A] meticulously researched, beautifully crafted work of nonfiction that reads like a James Bond thriller” (Bookreporter), The Princess Spy brings to vivid life the dazzling adventures of a spirited American woman who risked everything to serve her country.

Code Name Lise: The True Story of the Woman Who Became WWII’s Most Highly Decorated Spy

Gallery Books |
Nonfiction

NATIONAL BESTSELLER
A Goodreads Choice Awards semifinalist
Florida Book Awards Silver Medalist
Featured in The New York Times, The Atlantic, Time, New York Newsday, and on Today!

Best Nonfiction Books to Read in 2019—Woman’s Day
The Best Nonfiction Books Coming Out This Year—BookBub
“A nonfiction thriller.”—The Wall Street Journal

From New York Times and international bestselling author of the “gripping” (Michael Connelly, #1 New York Times bestselling author) Into the Lion’s Mouth comes the extraordinary true story of Odette Sansom, the British spy who operated in occupied France and fell in love with her commanding officer during World War II—perfect for fans of Unbroken, The Nightingale, and The Code Breaker.

The year is 1942, and World War II is in full swing. Odette Sansom decides to follow in her war hero father’s footsteps by becoming an SOE agent to aid Britain and her beloved homeland, France. Five failed attempts and one plane crash later, she finally lands in occupied France to begin her mission. It is here that she meets her commanding officer Captain Peter Churchill.

As they successfully complete mission after mission, Peter and Odette fall in love. All the while, they are being hunted by the cunning German secret police sergeant, Hugo Bleicher, who finally succeeds in capturing them. They are sent to Paris’s Fresnes prison, and from there to concentration camps in Germany where they are starved, beaten, and tortured. But in the face of despair, they never give up hope, their love for each other, or the whereabouts of their colleagues.

In Code Name: Lise, Larry Loftis paints a portrait of true courage, patriotism, and love—of two incredibly heroic people who endured unimaginable horrors and degradations. He seamlessly weaves together the touching romance between Odette and Peter and the thrilling cat and mouse game between them and Sergeant Bleicher. With this amazing testament to the human spirit, Loftis proves once again that he is adept at writing “nonfiction that reads like a page-turning novel” (Parade).

Into the Lion’s Mouth: The True Story of Dusko Popov: World War II Spy, Patriot, and the Real-Life Inspiration for James Bond

Dutton Caliber |
Nonfiction
International bestseller!

James Bond has nothing on Dusko Popov. a double agent for the Abwehr, MI5 and MI6, and the FBI during World War II, Popov seduced numerous women, spoke five languages, and was a crack shot, all while maintaining his cover as a Yugoslavian diplomat…
 
On a cool August evening in 1941, a Serbian playboy created a stir at Casino Estoril in Portugal by throwing down an outrageously large baccarat bet to humiliate his opponent. The Serbian was a British double agent, and the money―which he had just stolen from the Germans―belonged to the British. From the sideline, watching with intent interest was none other than Ian Fleming…

The Serbian was Dusko Popov. As a youngster, he was expelled from his London prep school. Years later he would be arrested and banished from Germany for making derogatory statements about the Third Reich. When World War II ensued, the playboy became a spy, eventually serving three dangerous masters: the Abwehr, MI5 and MI6, and the FBI.

On August 10, 1941, the Germans sent Popov to the United States to construct a spy network and gather information on Pearl Harbor. The FBI ignored his German questionnaire, but J. Edgar Hoover succeeded in blowing his cover. While MI5 desperately needed Popov to deceive the Abwehr about the D-Day invasion, they assured him that a return to the German Secret Service Headquarters in Lisbon would result in torture and execution. He went anyway…

Into the Lion’s Mouth is a globe-trotting account of a man’s entanglement with espionage, murder, assassins, and lovers―including enemy spies and a Hollywood starlet. It is a story of subterfuge and seduction, patriotism, and cold-blooded courage. It is the story of Dusko Popov―the inspiration for James Bond.

INCLUDES PHOTOGRAPHS

Authors-Unbound_icon-web-link.png

Coming soon!

The Today Show interview with Larry Loftis, New York Times bestselling author of THE PRINCESS SPY

Larry Loftis on The Princess Spy, the WWII Spy Aline Griffith, Countess of Romanones

Larry Loftis | Code Name Lise on TODAY

Larry’s Recent Media Appearances

Larry’s Blog

Honors, Awards & Recognition

New York Times, Wall Street Journal, USA Today and International Bestselling Author
Florida Book Awards | Silver Medal
Goodreads Choice Awards | Semifinalist
The Washington Post | What to Read in 2021
Wall Street Journal | Monthly Pick

Media Kit

By clicking the link below your will be directed to a Google Docs Folder
where you can download author photos and cover images.

Similar Authors

Kevin
Journalist
Abbott
Bestselling Nonfiction Writer
Lynne
Journalist & Author of Historical Nonfiction
Daniel
Novelist & Nonfiction Writer
Matthew
Novelist & Nonfiction Writer

Interested in hosting this author?
Send us a message and an A|U Agent will return to you ASAP!