Train illustration.jpg
FACE illustration.jpg

Vesper Stamper

Vesper Stamper was born in Nuremberg, Germany and raised in New York City. Her family was an eclectic mix of engineers, musicians and artists who didn' t think Voltaire too tough for bedtime reading, Chopin Valses too loud for wake-up calls, or precision slide rules too fragile as playthings. She married filmmaker Ben Stamper right out of college, and together they have two wildly creative children. When Vesper earned her MFA in Illustration from School of Visual Arts, Ben gave her an orange tree. She illustrates and writes under its leaves and blossoms at her grandfather 's old drafting table, in the pine woods of the Northeast.

Vesper’s first Young Adult novel, What the Night Sings (2018) was longlisted for the National Book Award, and has earned rave reviews from readers and critics alike. For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in Striped Pajamas, it’s a lushly illustrated novel about a teen Holocaust survivor who must come to terms with who she is and how to rebuild her life.

A tour de force. This powerful story of love, loss, and survival is not to be missed.
— Kristin Hannah, author of THE NIGHTINGALE
NBA Longlist.png
Kirkus-Star-with-words.png
School Lib Journal.png

Talks and Topics

  • What the Night Sings Book Presentation with film

  • Art and Writing Class Critiques

  • Art Technique Workshops

  • Portfolio Reviews

  • Holocaust History Lessons

  • Music History/Appreciation

…exceptionally moving debut...a strong addition to the bookshelf of Holocaust fiction.
— Publishers Weekly, Starred Review
...will leave readers gasping.
— Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review
The narrative is spare but powerful as it depicts the daily horrors of the camps and the struggle to survive, hold on to humanity and, once freed, understand how to live again.
— School Library Journal, Starred Review


Check Vesper's Availability

Name *
Name

 

Previous & Upcoming Events:

  • June 2, 2018: New Jersey SCBWI Annual Conference

  • July 31, 2018: Thalia Book Club Camp - NYC, NY

  • Sept 22, 2018: Princeton Children’s Book Festival

  • Oct 20, 2018: Books by the Banks Festival - Cincinnati, OH

  • Oct 20, 2018: The Hive - Cincinnati, OH

  • Oct 21, 2018: Cincinnati Library - Cincinnati, OH

  • Nov 15, 2018: Miami Book Fair - Miami, FL

In the News: