Lakita Wilson

Children’s/Middle Grade/Young Adult Author
Fiction & Nonfiction
Travels from: Baltimore, MD

Wilson’s middle-grade novel is the perfect blend of humor, introspection, and authenticity. —Booklist

Lakita Wilson is the author of several novels and non-fiction projects for children and young adults, including What Is Black Lives Matter?, and biographies of Rosa Parks, Thurgood Marshall, Michelle Obama, and Lizzo; a part of the New York Times Bestselling HQ Now series; Be Real, Macy Weaver, a coming of age middle grade friendship story coming out in 2022; and The Hip Hop Feminists.

Lakita was born in Washington, DC, and grew up in Prince George’s County, Maryland. A 2017 recipient of SCBWI’s Emerging Voices Award, Lakita received her MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts. She is currently on faculty at Prince George’s Community College in the Education Department. Lakita lives in Prince George’s County, Maryland with her two children and Shih-Tzu.

Prepare an Invitation for:

Be Real, Macy Weaver

Viking Books for Young Readers |
Middle Grade
A humorous, heartfelt, and fashion-filled contemporary novel about Macy Weaver, a young girl struggling with how to be her true self and make a best friend. Perfect for fans of From the Desk of Zoe Washington and Stand Up, Yumi Chung.

Eleven-year-old Macy Weaver knows relationships are complicated. Fresh off her latest friendship breakup, she’s spent most of her summer break on her own. So when Macy’s mother decides to go back to college three states away, Macy jumps on the chance to move—anything for a fresh start.

But Macy’s new home isn’t exactly what she expected. Her mother’s never around and her dad’s always working. Lonelier than ever, Macy sets her sights on finding a new best friend. When she meets Brynn, who’s smart and kind and already seems to have her whole life figured out—down to her future as a high fashion model—Macy knows she’s it. The only problem is that Brynn already has a BFF and, as everyone knows, you can only have one.

Resorting to old habits, Macy turns one small lie into a whole new life—full of fantastic fashion and haute couture—but it isn’t long before everything really falls apart. Ultimately, Macy must determine how to make things right and be true to herself—rather than chasing after the person she thinks she’s supposed to be.

 

Who Is Colin Kaepernick?

Penguin Workshop |
Nonfiction

Learn about the inspiring life and career of professional football player and activist Colin Kaepernick in the new Who HQ Now format featuring newsmakers and trending topics.

On August 14, 2016, NFL quarterback Colin Kaepernick began a protest when he refused to stand for the national anthem. He wanted to make a statement about the oppression of people of color in the United States after he had spent a summer speaking out against police brutality. After playing professional football for six seasons, that would become Colin Kaepernick’s last season in the NFL, but he would go on to become one of the most prominent activists of today. Colin believed that speaking out against racism was far bigger than football, and other athletes agreed with him. Today, hundreds of athletes — from high schools to professional teams — still kneel during the national anthem to protest the treatment of people of color in America.

Discover more about Colin Kaepernick’s story in this addition to the New York Times bestselling series.

What Is Black Lives Matter?

Penguin Workshop |
Nonfiction

From the #1 New York Times bestselling series comes the latest title in the Who HQ Now format for trending topics. It tells the history of a political and social movement that advocates for non-violent civil disobedience and protests against incidents of police brutality–and all racially motivated violence–against Black people.

When a Black teenager named Trayvon Martin was senselessly killed in 2012, the African American community called for his murderer to be held accountable. But like many other racially sparked incidents in the past, his killer walked free. People looked for justice and healing in the moment. They turned to social media and a simple yet powerful hashtag emerged, #BlackLivesMatter.

The message grew into an international movement and has now become the rallying cry during protests against police brutality and racial acts of violence. The movement gained even more attention and support in 2020 when it called for police reform in the United States after the police-related murder of George Floyd.

Lizzo: Breakout Artist

Lerner Publications (Tm) |
Nonfiction

Melissa Vivianne Jeffersion, known professionally as Lizzo, started singing and rapping at age 10 and performed with several musical groups in her hometowns of Houston and Minneapolis. With her strong lyrics, danceable beats, and positive message, she’s become one of the biggest solo musicians in the world.

Michelle Obama: Get to Know the Influential First Lady and Education Advocate

Capstone Press |
Nonfiction

The first black First Lady in U.S. history (and one of the most beloved), Michelle Obama brought intelligence and passion to her role. Readers will learn how her years as a daughter, student, lawyer, wife, and mother shaped her into the influential education, healthy living, and women’s rights advocate she is today.

Thurgood Marshall

Pebble Books |
Nonfiction

How much do you know about Thurgood Marshall? Find out the facts you need to know about this civil rights lawyer and justice of the U.S. Supreme Court. You’ll learn about the early life, challenges, and major accomplishments of this important American.

Rosa Parks

Pebble Books |
Middle Grade

How much do you know about Rosa Parks? Find out the facts you need to know about this activitist in the civil rights movement. You’ll learn about the early life, challenges, and major accomplishments of this important American.

One Kid = Mighty Actions

Everyone is invited to speak up and organize for social justice. Patrisse Cullors, Alicia Garza and Opal Tometi didn’t begin fighting for racial justice as adults. Before the Black Lives Matter movement, they were kids in their communities, working hard to bring about change. Starting with problems we see in our own communities, students will work in collaborative groups to organize possible solutions for change.

Together We Rise

Racism hurts the healthy development of individual and group identity. After a discussion on the history of the Black Lives Matter Movement, youth advocates (parents, teachers, librarians, etc) will begin building skills needed to talk thoughtfully about race to young children and introduce antiracist behaviors in the home, learning environment, and community.

Lakita’s School Visits

Honors, Awards & Recognition

NCSS-CBC Notable Social Studies Trade Books, 2022

Media clips

Media Kit

By clicking the link below your will be directed to a Google Docs Folder
where you can download author photos and cover images.

Similar Authors

Picture Book & Middle Grade Author
Children’s/Middle Grade Author & Illustrator
Middle Grade Graphic Novelist
Middle Grade & Young Adult Author
Children’s/Middle Grade/Young Adult Author

Interested in hosting this author?
Send us a message and an A|U Agent will return to you ASAP!