Laurie Lico Albanese

Historical Fiction Novelist
Trauma and Teaching Focus
Travels from: Newark, NJ

“A powerful and important tale of love and war, art and family…I was transported.” – Allison Pataki, New York Times bestselling author

Laurie Lico Albanese is a favorite of independent booksellers, and author of the novel Stolen Beauty, which the Wall Street Journal calls “a work of art itself.” Her historical fiction brings to life heroines known to us through iconic works of art, including the paintings of Viennese artist Gustav Klimt, and Renaissance artist Fra Filippo Lippi. She is also the author of a memoir-in-verse, Blue Suburbia, and co-author of The Miracles of Prato.

A dedicated creative writing teacher and inveterate researcher, Laurie travels extensively for her fiction, journalism and workshops. She guides audiences and students through the creative process by focusing on universal experiences of love, loss, fortitude and desire for connection that unite us all.

Laurie has worked in book publishing and journalism, and feels exceedingly fortunate to be part of the world of words and books. She adores libraries and bookstores, and is developing a specialty in trauma and teaching through her work at the Stonecoast MFA Program at the University of Southern Maine in Portland.

Awards include a Hadassah-Brandeis Institute Research Grant, NJ State Council in the Arts Fellowship in Fiction Writing, and a Catherine R. Dodge Foundation Fellowship to the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts.

Laurie grew up on Long Island, and graduated from New York University with a degree in journalism. She learned to love winter while living in Chicago for nine years. She now lives in New Jersey.

Prepare an Invitation for:

Stolen Beauty: A Novel

Atria Books |
Novel

“A powerful and important tale of love and war, art and family…I was transported.” —Allison Pataki, New York Times bestselling author

“Albanese artfully weaves Adele’s story with Maria’s harrowing life under the Nazis, but it’s hard to read Stolen Beauty without seeing ugly echoes in today’s headlines. Seven decades after World War II, have we learned nothing?” —USA TODAY

From the dawn of the twentieth century to the devastation of World War II, this exhilarating novel of love, war, art, and family gives voice to two extraordinary women and brings to life the true story behind the creation and near destruction of Gustav Klimt’s most remarkable paintings.

In the dazzling glitter of 1900 Vienna, Adele Bloch-Bauer—young, beautiful, brilliant, and Jewish—meets painter Gustav Klimt. Wealthy in everything but freedom, Adele embraces Klimt’s renegade genius as the two awaken to the erotic possibilities on the canvas and beyond. Though they enjoy a life where sex and art are just beginning to break through the façade of conventional society, the city is also exhibiting a disturbing increase in anti-Semitism, as political hatred foments in the shadows of Adele’s coffee house afternoons and cultural salons.

Nearly forty years later, Adele’s niece Maria Altmann is a newlywed when the Nazis invade Austria—and overnight, her beloved Vienna becomes a war zone. When her husband is arrested and her family is forced out of their home, Maria must summon the courage and resilience that is her aunt’s legacy if she is to survive and keep her family—and their history—alive.

Will Maria and her family escape the grip of Nazis’ grip? And what will become of the paintings that her aunt nearly sacrificed everything for?

Impeccably researched and a “must-read for fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Paula McLain’s Circling the Sun” (Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author), Stolen Beauty intertwines the tales of two remarkable women across more than a hundred years. It juxtaposes passion and discovery against hatred and despair, and shines a light on our ability to love, to destroy, and above all, to endure.

The Lady Behind the Gold: Gustav Klimt & Adele Bloch-Bauer (Book & Movie)

Klimt's Women: Invention of the Modern in Fin-de-Siecle Vienna

Hitler, Klimt & Adele Bloch-Bauer: Art & Vienna 1908-2006

Blue Suburbia: Trauma, Poetry & Blue Collar Childhood

Getting Started: Creative Writing for All Ages

Collaging & Klimt: A Hands-On Workshop & Book Talk

Memoir Writing: Turning Life Into Art

Teaching Writing in Community Settings & Addressing Issues of Trauma

Historical Fiction & Feminist Heroines

Resources for Book Clubs

Upcoming Events

Honors, Awards & Recognition

Hadassah-Brandeis Institute Research Grant Awardee
NJ State Council in the Arts Fellowship in Fiction Writing

Media Kit

By clicking the link below your will be directed to a Google Docs Folder
where you can download author photos and cover images.

Interested in hosting this author?
Send us a message and an A|U Agent will return to you ASAP!