“The children were so excited to see a “real-life” author in person. They were amazed that the person reading to them is the same person that wrote their favorite stories.” —Dawn Gallis, Early Childhood Education Coordinator

Steve Metzger grew up in Queens, New York. It was a quieter time… when kids could enjoy hours of unsupervised outdoor play with their friends. He was fortunate to have supportive parents and a wonderful younger sister, Lois, who is now a writer of amazing young-adult books. Mutti, Steve’s remarkable grandmother, was a source of unconditional love, something every child needs.

In his younger years, Steve had a variety of jobs – dishwasher, taxi driver, hotel room clerk, and import manager – before finding his true calling, working with children. He went to graduate school and received his teaching degree from “Bank Street College of Education.”

Steve spent 15 happy years as a classroom teacher. Afterward, he worked at Scholastic, where he had the opportunity to write children’s books. Seventy books later, he’s still writing… and loving it! Now, Steve lives with his wife, Nancy; daughter, Julia; and Biscuit, a talkative cat, in New York City.

In his newest book, The Bumble Brothers: Crazy for Comics, author Steve Metzger has created a hilarious read for kids. With the collaboration of illustrator Brian Schatell, this graphic novel is packed with colorfully illustrated boxes that clearly show the action, emotions, and ideas of the characters. Young readers will laugh out loud at the situations the brothers get themselves into. Parents, teachers, and librarians can use this as a tool to get hesitant readers to want to pick up this fun, fast-paced read.

Bumble Brothers: Crazy for Comics

Reycraft Books |
Children’s

A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection!

Walter and Christopher Bumble, 9-year-old twins, are given $2 to buy a quart of milk, but something always gets in the way! Find out what happens in the Bumble Brothers’ laugh-out-loud first book: Crazy for Comics!

Thankful Animals, Thankful Me

Familius |
Children’s

A bug is thankful for a leaf,
A sea star for its coral reef.

A hawk is thankful for the sky,
A piglet for a muddy sty.

In this colorful board book, animals are the perfect examples of gratitude for the simple things, from the open sea to a safe barn stall. With adorable, brightly colored drawings and rhyming couplets, Thankful Animals, Thankful Me will teach your child about a multitude of animals, all while showing them how to be thankful. A life full of gratitude has never been so easy—or cute!

Yes, I Can Listen!

Parenting Press |
Children’s

In a world filled with distractions, being a good listener has become more difficult than ever! This essential life skill helps children achieve success at school, follow safety rules, and show others that they care. The playful rhymes of Yes, I Can Listen! encourage children to appreciate the rewards of attentive listening in a wide range of familiar situations. Sweet characters and vivid illustrations make these interactions come alive.

Yes, I Can Listen! also includes suggestions for parents who wish to explore fun activities that enhance listening skills with their children.

Princess Kitty

HarperCollins |
Children’s

Princess Kitty is in for a royal treat! Her palace attendants are throwing a surprise party in her honor. At least, that’s what she thinks! There will be games, presents, cake, and more. But when the guests start arriving, no one is paying attention to the kitty of honor! What’s a princess to do?

From award-winning children’s book author Steve Metzger, and accompanied by colorful, vibrant illustrations by Ella Okstad, comes Princess Kitty, a sweet and silly story about a kitty who learns to share the spotlight.

Perfect for fans of They All Saw a Cat and Bad Kitty!

The Way I Act

Parenting Press |
Children’s

The Way I Act explores thirteen ways of behaving. The friendly verses and bold illustrations convey many positive ideas of how to act in a variety of situations. In the companion book, The Way I Feel, children learned that feelings come and go and simply are.

A little older now, they are ready to think about the ability they have to control how things turn out. Like The Way I Feel, this book is ideal for children with autism.

(Ages 4-9)

Authors-Unbound_icon-web-link.png

Author Visits

Suggested Audience: PreK – 5th Grade

Steve loves visiting schools and sharing the joy of children’s literature with children, teachers, and librarians. His multi-media presentations incorporate literacy standards, attributes of STEM and the six traits of writing. Steve will also explore the process of creating a picture book – from idea to publication. Programs may be customized for your school and feature:

  • Award-winning picture books
  • Audience participation
  • New Graphic Novel for Reluctant Readers — The Bumble Brothers: Crazy for Comics!
  • Science connections based on Pluto Visits Earth!
  • Toto’s Story – Chapter Book for 6 to 10 year-olds
  • Books that promote character development
  • Time for Q&A

 

Meet the Bumble Brothers

Honors, Awards & Recognition

Junior Library Guild | Gold Standard Selection
ABC | Best Books for Children
Colorado Children’s Book Award | Nominee
2019 Honoree | Eureka! Nonfiction Children’s Book Award
IRA-CBC Children’s Choice List

Media clips

Kristi’s Book Nook | Author Highlight: Steve Metzger

 

Media Kit

By clicking the link below your will be directed to a Google Docs Folder
where you can download author photos and cover images.

Similar Authors

Darren
Award Winning Author
Alastair
Children’s Book Author
Ethan T.
Children’s Author
Jason
Children’s/Middle Grade Author & Illustrator
Raina
Middle Grade Graphic Novelist

Interested in hosting this author?
Send us a message and an A|U Agent will return to you ASAP!